A New player in the Real Estate game – Redfin

I try to read Robert Scoble’s blog, Scobleizer at least once a day because there is always something interesting and sometimes there is even a post about something I actually know about – today was one of those days. Mr. S has a post about a new Real Estate Company, Redfin with a totally new twist on the game of buying and selling a house. I do not always watch Robert’s videos, but this time I did and I am very glad I did.

Redfin is an online service for buying and selling your house , located in Washington state and California. I went to the site and checked it out, because I happen to spend a great deal of time viewing listings on two large Real Estate Websites, a Santa Cruz Co Coldwell Banker site and also Ziprealty.com. I had learned along time ago that 90 percent of the real estate services online leave much to be desired and both of the afore mentioned companies gave me what I was looking for, a deep look into the homes and all the date about the house I needed to know.

Now, with Redfin, there is so much more to find out about the house. The user experience is rich, with more details available to the user such as previous selling prices listed per year, so one can see the way the home grew in value; as well as Zillow.com property valuations. The description of the house is very complete as well.

I am not saying I will stop visiting my favorite company, but with this service there is a place to go for further information as needed.

One idea that was presented on the video interview was that this company refunds 2/3 of the commission! This can be applied either to closing costs or the down-payment. The agents you deal with at Redfin are not paid on commission either, rather they are paid a bonus based on customer satisfaction, this means that you can rest easy knowing that the agent will not be pushing a house on the buyer that may not be a great deal for them.

If you are buying or selling a home and want to explore doing this with less cost than you would have with a traditional Real Estate Co, I suggest you give Redfin a look; I think you will be happy you did.

John Chow presents “Irrefutable mathematical proof that girls are evil!”

Love the way this “proof” was presented on John Chows blog :-).This would be far funnier to me, if I was not the mom of three teenage girls, one who is 25 and one 6 year old grand-baby. Tho, out of the whole gaggle of hens that I own, the grand-baby is the sweetest of them all 🙂

* Nooooo, all my girls are sweet, and I am thankful that I have had the pleasure of being their mom all these years, love you girls, as well as my boys.

The mathematical formula he presents on his blog is worthy of more strenuous investigation, I feel that some variables were left out. I await further write ups on this hypothesis LOL.