and more on Ubuntu …..

I was interested in seeing what was being said on Google’s News Search concerning Ubuntu.

I found that on April 26th, there was a security notice concerning 6.06, 6.10 and 7.04. ( I had better make sure I have all that upgraded on my machine)

Here is a nice write up on Ubuntu at ITManagment.com and an even better post at Information Week with some great comments as well.

All in all, I am beginning to read more and more that people are jumping ship from the SS Microsoft. I have to say that even with all the small problems I have had ( and more than likely created myself) and all the reading I have had to do, using Ubuntu is the best thing I have ever done, concerning Computers.

Now, I hope I made my ISO of Edgy correctly, and tomorrow we will see if it takes 🙂

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Justin
    Apr 29, 2007 @ 19:00:51

    Why are you trying Edgy? Feisty was released, try that instead.

    Reply

  2. Justin
    Apr 29, 2007 @ 19:03:01

    Also, I wouldn’t worry about that security flaw. Unless you’re hosting a website that uses PostgreSQL, you really have nothing to worry about.

    Reply

  3. kystorms
    Apr 29, 2007 @ 19:54:21

    I did download the ISO to disk, exactly as it said to do, but seems that I did something wrong because it did not take, lots of erros on my boot screen etc, so it left me hanging sort of. Then I decided to just ‘try’ the upgrade to at least get me to edgy. I am working on a project that needs my scanner to work and i saw on the forums that HP F335 would work on that, so I attempted once again to upgrade to edgy, everything went ok, i thought and i am on it now, however in the last 10 seconds of the install it said there was some error, and now i am on a pc that might be unstable. Well, I fearfully rebooted, but it went right into the system with no problems — so far.
    Is there a way to check my OS from the net for files that are needed to be fixed etc?
    and I will just wait for Feisty to come via disk, as for some reason I am not suited to doing the disk and I do not want a fresh install, rather an upgrade so I have all my files etc in tact.
    I saw no where on the disk i made of feisty to upgrade, only fresh install.

    Reply

  4. Justin
    Apr 30, 2007 @ 01:28:39

    How did you burn the ISO file to the disc? Did you actually burn it as a disc image (Right Click > Burn to CD), or did you copy it to the disc as a file? The second one would not work.

    You have been using the “Desktop” CD, which means that you can use it as a Live CD (you can boot the whole OS from the disc), and you can do a fresh install. However, you cannot upgrade from the desktop CD. If you want to do an upgrade from a CD instead of the network, you need the “Alternate” install CD. For more information on this, go here: http://www.ubuntu.com/getubuntu/upgrading and read the section titled “Upgrading using the alternate CD/DVD”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

