How I have been doing with Ubuntu

Today, I was able to get Enlightenment to work on my PC! I feel so great when I write some code into my terminal and it actually works, now I am still being patient because as bad as I want to get Beryl working on here, I know how it does not work on Dapper. I just have to wait for those disks to get here * I wonder, how long will it really take?*

I just need to find a tutorial or help file that will show me how to install more themes into Enlightenment, as the three I have now, while nice, are not what I am looking for. My next level to jump to is getting Blackbox on here. I had it on windows, used it exclusively and love it alot. I just don’t think it has transparent windows, which is what my ultimate goal is.

I love how much faster my computer is now as well, except that in Dapper the Firefox just crawls. I have a 6Mb broadband line, and 2 MB of ram, my computer should scream along at all times.

In other news from my part of the world, I have been banging my head against a brick wall concerning monetizing my blogs on Blopspot. I have Kontera, textlinks, Google Adsense; and yet I don’t seem to get the special *thing* that makes one’s blog reader numbers jump through the roof.

I also have a project that I am working on that I need to work getting finalized by the end of this month beginning of next.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Loki
    Apr 24, 2007 @ 11:41:53

    Hi, I’m new to ubuntu and I’m looking for feedback from people who already use it. Good experiences, bad experiences. Everything. Please stop by my blog and leave a comment if you have any advice.

    Reply

  2. kystorms
    Apr 24, 2007 @ 19:23:28

    Welcome Loki 🙂

    I would be very happy to come over to your blog and leave some comments!

    Reply

  3. Justin
    Apr 28, 2007 @ 02:14:54

    It would be a lot easier if you had Feisty (or Edgy). It is possible on Dapper, but you would have to install Xgl, change your X server, then install Beryl. Feisty and Edgy include AIGLX, which preforms the same task as Xgl, so you can just install Beryl and it will work.

    I’d reccomend that you just download Feisty instead of ordering CDs. Go to this site: http://www.ubuntu.com/getubuntu/download

    Just pick a mirror, download the ISO file, and burn it to a CD (in Ubuntu, just right click on the file, and there should be a burn to disc option).

    Reply

  4. kystorms
    Apr 28, 2007 @ 17:54:28

    hi Justin

    Thanks! I was afraid to do so, since the download ‘upgrade’ did not do so well for me, but I will do that and cross my fingers it works! be back later to tell you all how it turned out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

