It has been a bumpy ride with Ubuntu ( but I still love it)

I have not been here to post for a few days because in my infinite wisdom, I tried to upgrade from Ubuntu Dapper to Edgy Eft, then upgraded again to Feisty Fawn and then I tried to hook up Beryl. Well, this went on for two whole days before I got the memo, things were not working right. In Feisty, everything seemed well, and before I had a chance to get Beryl on it , I rebooted my system and then my internet was gone!

I think that it was the fact that I downloaded the two upgrades instead of patiently waiting for the disks. Now, I have Dapper working well, and I will leave it as it is until the disks for both upgrades come. I ordered Edgy on the 13th and it shipped the 14th, tho I hear that it can be a few weeks before I see it. Not a problem.

Now, if I could only find a guide that will walk me through getting Beryl on this machine after I  use the disks. I have used the forum but there are so many people with so many different situations that they are using Beryl in, that I am not sure which applies to me.

I see that my graphics card will work, but I am unsure of whether I am supposed to get a different driver ( I have an ATI Radeon 7000/Ve) When I use the terminal I see that I do have 3D rendering, so if anyone has a clue whether I can just download Beryl and use it without further drivers, I would love to hear about it.

I really only want to have the transparent windows that Berly offers, so this is important to me. Hope that I can figure out what to do.

Leave a Reply

