Doin the happy dance – I’m getting Ubuntu!

Come Monday evening, my computer will be running Ubuntu! Yes, you read it correctly, no more windows, except for the tiny little one I stare out longingly each day. *NO, not a jail cell window ;-/*

So, my brother was the first to get his pans in a bunch and go anti windows, and he is darned happy. Then of all surprises, my dad the man who likes everything to be safe and sane , said when he has his projects at a more completed stage ( he writes Civil War Books, and Sci-Fi, check him out at amazon.com if your interested)

So, we three computer users on high ( oh ok, too much words huh?) we three computer users who want to actually control our own computers, are deciding to do by using a more interesting a OS. Now, this got me to thinking, if I and my family were up to this action, what is the fraction of PC users out in America ( and the world?) who are also doing the same thing?

Can we the computer user break Microsoft’s hold on the Universe? I sure hope so 😉 but I am in an evil anti BG mood.

So, for those of you who are, leave a note if you would. Tell us why you are using Ubuntu, what you like, do not like etc.

I cant wait to get numbers to run with, I have a feeling that there are many who are of the anti windows click and I yearn to join them.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Justin
    Apr 14, 2007 @ 02:54:18

    I’ve been using Ubuntu since October, 2005 (when 5.10 was released, aka Breezy Badger). Really, the thing that drove me to Ubuntu was Windows. I was sick of using an OS that could not keep itself in a useful state for more than 6 months at a time, since that was about how often I had to re-install it. With Ubuntu, I’ve never had to do much manual maintenance to keep the system running as good as it can. Not only that, but once you learn more about Linux and how it works, you can really gain complete control over how your computer operates, which is a good feeling.

    The next version of Ubuntu, Feisty Fawn (7.04) is scheduled for release in a couple of weeks, so if you haven’t already downloaded version 6.10, I’d recommend that you either download the beta version (available on http://releases.ubuntu.com/feisty/), or wait until 7.04 is released. The beta is already quite stable, as most of the bugs have been fixed already.

    Reply

  2. carthik
    Apr 14, 2007 @ 04:33:33

    Cool! Way to go! I love it when whole families switch to Ubuntu 🙂

    Reply

  3. kystorms
    Apr 14, 2007 @ 19:41:23

    Hello Justin and Carthik –

    I am totally happy about this move, after last evening looking at all the different desktop themes ( love that Beryl BIG TIME) I am not seeing why I would want to keep VISTA.
    Thank you for your comments Justin, I am sure I have a ton to learn about the whole thing, and cant wait to learn it all!
    Can you suggest a good forum/group where I can go and learn what I need to know about coming off my Windows fix?

    Thanks again
    🙂

    Reply

  4. Justin
    Apr 15, 2007 @ 00:47:51

    Beryl is amazing, I’m running it on my desktop (if only I could run it on my laptop). Feisty includes Compiz in the default install, and you can turn it on with a button (and beryl is simple to install). Although, Beryl will be merging with Compiz soon, so we’ll see faster development there.

    I’d reccomend the Ubuntu Forums (http://www.ubuntuforums.org) and the Ubuntu Wiki (http://wiki.ubuntu.com), they are both great resources.

    A good place for themes is http://www.gnome-look.org, so be sure to check there if you want more themes.

    Reply

  5. kystorms
    Apr 15, 2007 @ 01:24:13

    Hi

    I am wondering about whether or not the Radeon 7000 will work with Ubuntu, I mean it wont work with Vista ( says its not high enough for 3D) so, what kind of graphics card do you use?

    thanks for the links info , definitely will go there tonight

    Reply

  6. Justin
    Apr 15, 2007 @ 04:35:55

    Personally, I’m an NVidia person. I don’t have a lot of firsthand experience with ATi, but it looks like your card will work (with 3D acceleration) out of the box, using the “radeon” driver.

    Reply

  7. Justin
    Apr 15, 2007 @ 04:42:20

    Although, that card looks pretty old. I’m not sure how much success you’ll have with Beryl.

    Reply

  8. carthik
    Apr 15, 2007 @ 12:21:58

    My blog should help you with tips etc – its all about Ubuntu.

    Reply

  9. kystorms
    Apr 15, 2007 @ 17:19:06

    Justin –
    Heres hoping that this works on my card 🙂 thank you for all the info and help, great to have you posting here.

    Carthik –
    Thanks for the blog info, will go there today and have a read!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

