Justin.Tv and selling pixels ~ old ideas redone

I have been seeing posts here and there on the net about a new site ~Justin.tv, and had to go and see for myself what all the hoopla was about.

What I saw, frankly both confused me and made me think. He has a ton of viewers on his site, while I was on there were 430 people viewing the camera feed he has on the site. The whole premise if that he *Justin* wears his camera all the time, all the time meaning bathroom visits, dates etc. At the top of his site is a clock which shows that this has been going on for 14 days and some odd hours.

I want to know what the heck is so interesting here? The comments on the website from the various viewers are sometimes pretty gross ( seems that its the MTV crowd who goes there most).

Now, that is funny…. I was the original MTV crowd way back in the stone age when it started.

So, I ask again…. what the heck is so interesting that this website of his has taken off?

Well, seems that someone spoofed Justin’s cell phone number according to techcrunch and called a stabbing into the San Fran Police Department, which lead to them storming his apartment , which thrilled the viewers it seems. Couple this event with a call about a fire, and now any emergency calls emitting from that number needs a confirmation before the various emergency departments respond.

I guess that the old adage of something only working once is not as true as I have thought, and you can revisit an idea, and its likely to take off again. Not that I am into wearing a camera 24/7, if my family did that, we would probably make the Osborne’s look like the Ozzy and Harriet show. And then I saw that the “Sell a pixel” program is alive and well in the form of this website – SiliconValleyPixels.com.
At SiliconValleyPixels , they are selling one pixel for one cent, and they have already sold 145,500! Yet another old idea that is working again.

I suppose I just need to either get a better muse, or rethink an old idea………. be back when I come up with something 🙂

Leave a Reply

