7,000 Iraqi refugees to come to US

Well, I can not say I am happy for them. Their homes are being destroyed, their lives destroyed and their children’s futures are almost over before they have begun. Those who have read some of my other comments, might be waiting for my “not here” comments; however you would be waiting in vain.

I had the privilege of having lived in Iran for a few years, back in the 1970’s. I loved the country, its people, its culture, its sights, the bazaars, the smells ( I could go on). I look at Iraq on the newscasts, and see hints of Iran there, not many I admit, but enough. So, I have an affinity for the people. I feel sorry for them, these 7000 people have no desire to pick up, leave their families, their homes, their dead to come to a morally different country. The struggle will be immense for them, even with the support they hopefully will receive from the Muslim Community here in the US.

I know what it is like, to go to a culture so different, as different as night is from day. It is very hard to do. Their are language barriers, feeling isolated and especially now and here in the US they will feel the hatred of many people being directed at them. They will no doubt feel fear as well, after all when one goes against the grain in their country, they tend to end up dead or worse.

I wish to tell the incoming 7000 Iraq people welcome. I hope in the end, whether you stay here permanently, or go home ( which I know is going to be your most desired wish) that you end up finding something to love and remember fondly, just as I did in Iran. Not all of us Americans blame or hate you, and if you give us a chance, we might become friends 🙂

And, please remember we in our hearts, no matter how badly handled really just want to help, not harm.

And for the Americans who read this:

Remember, if you do not wish to be blamed for what your government does all around the world ( which is what terrorist groups are doing to us) then don’t blame these innocent people for what some have done. And don’t bring them into the immigration discussion, because these are two different animals.

Lets all be nice, show what Americans are really like ok?

Read the CNN report here.

Leave a Reply

